stack of books with an apple
Staff » Staff and Faculty

Staff and Faculty

The Diversity of our Bronx Compass Community: We're stronger together.
 
The staff and faculty at Compass are a community filled with passion for teaching, learning and helping each other grow. Each of our educators and members of our faculty believe strongly in our students, mission and values. All staff are enthusiastic about our young dragons and strive to propel our mission forward in inspiring, sometimes surprising ways.
MEET OUR PRINCIPAL - HEAD DRAGON
 
Principal Neal
 
Steven Neal became the Principal of Bronx Compass High School in January 2021 and has served New York City public school students for over 11 years. Steven has served as a Humanities teacher, Global History teacher, AP U.S. History teacher, and Education Administrator. In his previous role as Instructional Lead for High School Social Studies, Steven provided support to Bronx Compass High School in the areas of Social Studies, instruction, grant writing, and culturally responsive pedagogy. Steven received his Bachelor of Arts from Iona College, Master’s of Science in Education from Mercy College, and Master’s of Science in School Building Leadership from the College of Saint Rose.
 
Fun Fact: Steven was born and raised in the Bronx and is a product of the NYC public school system!
GET TO KNOW OUR ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS
CHOWDHURY, FUAD MARTINEZ-ELIAS, JOSE PENTOLIROS, SOPHIA
CHOWDHURY, FUAD MARTINEZ-ELIAS, JOSE PENTOLIROS, SOPHIA
fchowdhury@bronxcompass.org jmartinez-elias@bronxcompass.org spentoliros@bronxcompass.org
Fuad Chowdhury is the Assistant Principal of Mathematics, LOTE and Physical Science of Bronx Compass High School, a role has served for two years. Prior to that he was a Math and Science teacher at an International High School in the Bronx. Fuad also serves as the programmer of Compass and is in charge of the school's ENL compliance and services, as well as attendance initiatives. Fuad's passion stems from his belief in high expectations and preparing students for college readiness through rigorous instruction and tiered scheduling so that students are challenged at their entry points.
 
“Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.”
 
- John Dewey
"You have power over your mind - not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength."
 
- Marcus Aurelius
 
Sophia Pentoliros is one of the Assistant Principals of Bronx Compass High School. Sophia received her Bachelor of Science in Social Studies Education from New York University and a Master's of Science in School Leadership from Baruch College. She has served in the Department of Education for 13 years; 5 years as a Special Education and Social Studies teacher and 8 years as an Assistant Principal. At Bronx Compass, Sophia is the Assistant Principal of English Language Arts, Life Science and Special Education and she supports teacher Professional Development, Special Education compliance, school trips and community events. Sophia has always loved school and the work she does as an educator. She wants all her students to have the positive experiences in school that she had which allowed her to find and follow her passions in life.
 
“The function of freedom is to free someone else.”
 
- Toni Morrison
SAY HELLO TO OUR TEACHERS
Helping Shape Young Minds:
 
Our teachers are demonstrated experts in their fields and in student learning. They regularly upgrade their qualifications through rigorous professional development that is grounded in classroom practice and aligned with our Culturally Relevant Pedagogy, including Therapeutic Intervention Crisis for Schools (TCIS), Restorative Justice, Respect for All, Advanced Literacy and Math for America.
Addison, Jordain Banegas, Lisette Bhutta, Sukhleen Bostick, Azure
Addison, Jordain Banegas, Lisette Bhutta, Sukhleen Bostick, Azure
jaddison@bronxcompass.org lbanegas@bronxcompass.org sbhutta@bronxcompass.org abostick@bronxcompass.org
"If you stop at general math, then you will only make general money."
 
― Snoop Dogg
 
 
“Now I think it’s one of the most useless questions an adult can ask a child—What do you want to be when you grow up? As if growing up is finite. As if at some point you become something and that’s the end.”
 
― Michelle Obama
 
Brown, Logan Brown, Monique Broz, Zlatica Cornelio, Genelly
Brown, Logan Brown, Monique Broz, Zlatica Cornelio, Genelly
loganbrown@bronxcompass.org mbrown@bronxcompass.org horcinovazlatica@bronxcompass.org gcornelio@bronxcompass.org
"Be like cheese and bacon and make everything you touch better."
 
- Kid President
 
"What you lack in talent can be made up with desire, hustle and giving 110% all the time."
 
- Don Zimmer
 
Bronx Girl. Born and raised!
   
Feldman, Ken Hernandez, Angela Joshua, Faustine Laboy, Christine
Feldman, Ken Hernandez, Angela Joshua, Faustine Laboy, Christine
kfeldman@bronxcompass.org angelahernandez@bronxcompass.org fjoshua@bronxcompass.org christinelaboy@bronxcompass.org
 
Mr. Feldman has been a teacher for over 11 years in the New York City Public School System. He is a proud parent, foster parent, and husband of over 11 years. In his spare time, he is a Star Wars addict, an amateur cook, and avid reader.
 
"Try or Try not. There is no try. Only do or do not."
 
- Yoda
   
"Knowing thyself is the height of wisdom"
 
― Socrates
Longsworth, James Lopez, Josh Lopez-Castro, Maria Madrid, Evelin
Longsworth, James Lopez, Josh Lopez-Castro, Maria Madrid, Evelin
jlongsworth@bronxcompass.org joshlopezt@bronxcompass.org mlopezcastro@bronxcompass.org emadrid@bronxcompass.org
   
 
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, 'Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?' But honestly, who are you to not be so?"
 
― Marianne Williamson
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it."
 
- Neil deGrasse Tyson
Momplaisir, Leopold Nekoufar, Sarah Oliva, Pablo Oshodi, Adebowale
Momplaisir, Leopold Nekoufar, Sarah Oliva, Pablo Oshodi, Adebowale
lmomplaisir@bronxcompass.org snekoufar@bronxcompass.org pablooliva@bronxcompass.org aoshodi@bronxcompass.org
 
“If kids come to us from strong, healthy functioning families, it makes our job easier. If they do not come to us from strong, healthy, functioning families, it makes our job more important.”
 
― Barbara Colorose
 
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."
 
- Mahatma Gandhi
 
Pace, Bill Pearlman, Rebecca Rahmeh, Sondra Rosen, Josh
Pace, Bill Pearlman, Rebecca Rahmeh, Sondra Rosen, Josh
bpace@bronxcompass.org rpearlman@bronxcompass.org srahmeh@bronxcompass.org jrosen@bronxcompass.org
 
“If you steal from one it's plagiarism; if you steal from many it's research.”
 
- Wilson Mizner
     
  Smith, Paul Solivan, Norberto  
Rousseau, Nancy Smith, Paul Solivan, Norberto Stern, Gregg
nancyrousseau@bronxcompass.org paulsmith@bronxcompass.org solivan@bronxcompass.org gstern@bronxcompass.org
 
 
I love working with students.
 
I love reading.
 
I love working with students about reading.
 
BX
 
“Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.”
 
- James Baldwin
   
    Tomlin, Nadia Watkins, Janelle
Tabasko, Deidre Talavera, Violeta Tomlin, Nadia Watkins, Janelle
dtabasko@bronxcompass.org tvioletta@bronxcompass.org ntomlin@bronxcompass.org jwatkins@bronxcompass.org
     
 
Ms. Watkins is a writer and former Journalist who has traveled the globe. She came to teaching as a second career, loves the work she does and is fiercely passionate about her students and their prosperity as whole human beings. Ms. Watkins is a proud Canadian through and through.
 
"If I didn't define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people's fantasies for me and eaten alive."
 
- Audre Lorde
MEET OUR SOCIAL WORKER
 
AND HERE ARE THE SCHOOL COUNSELORS
 
SANTANA, CAROLYN VARGAS, JAHAIRA
SANTANA, CAROLYN VARGAS, JAHAIRA
csantana@bronxcompass.org jahairavargas@bronxcompass.org
 
Dear Students,
 
I believe in you and trust you. You are listened to, cared for, important and...
 
You Will Succeed!
 
"Be sure what you want and be sure about yourself. Fashion is not just beauty, it's about good attitude. You have to believe in yourself and be strong."
 
― A. Lima
 
THEY HELP KEEP IT TOGETHER: OUR SECRETARIES
 
DOMENECH, LETICIA OLIVERO, JUDITH
DOMENECH, LETICIA OLIVERO, JUDITH
leticiadomenech@bronxcompass.org jolivero@bronxcompass.org
 
 
As long as you are honest, ambitious & loving, life will have great rewards for you!
OUR FEARLESS PARENT COORDINATOR
 
 
NIEVES, CHARLENE
 
 
She is fearless, she is compassionate, she is real and she is funny . She also loves our students and parent community. Anything you need, Ms. Nieves has got your back.